BACK 

BACK 

THE BARBER OF SEVILLE

Excerpt from The Barber of Seville Deutsche Grammophon 457 7332. London Symphony Orchestra and The Ambrosian Opera Chorus, Claudio Abbado, conductor. Hermann Prey, Teresa Berganza, Luigi Alva, Enzo Dara, Paolo Montarsolo.


 

Love has a sense of humour.

In the perfectly paced frenzy of this riotous romp, barber Figaro helps a lovesick nobleman win the woman of his dreams.

 

APRIL 17 to MAY 22, 2015


 

On stage at the Four Seasons Centre, 145 Queen St. W., Toronto.
Performance time is approximately two hours, 55 minutes including one intermission.
Sung in Italian with English SURTITLES™.

Conductor: Rory Macdonald
Production Team: Els Comediants
Director: Joan Font
Set and Costume Designer: Joan Guillén
Lighting Designer: Albert Faura
Chorus Master: Sandra Horst

Figaro: Joshua Hopkins
Rosina: Serena Malfi (April 17, 19, 21, 29, May 2, 7, 13, 22)
             Cecelia Hall (April 26, May 9, 19, 21)
Almaviva: Alek Shrader
Bartolo: Renato Girolami
Basilio: Robert Gleadow

For full cast and creative team, click here

With the COC Orchestra and Chorus


 

New COC co-production with Houston Grand Opera, Opéra National de Bordeaux and Opera Australia

A scene from the Canadian Opera Company/Opéra National de Bordeaux (ONB)/Houston Grand Opera co-production of The Barber of Seville, 2012, ONB. Photo: Guillaume Bonnaud

Performance Dates & Times
View the performance dates below:
  • Fri. April 17, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Sun. April 19, 2015 at 2 p.m.
  • Tue. April 21, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Sun. April 26, 2015 at 2 p.m.
  • Wed. April 29, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Sat. May 2, 2015 at 4:30 p.m.
  • Thu. May 7, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Sat. May 9, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Wed. May 13, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Fri. May 15, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.*
  • Tue. May 19, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Thu. May 21, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Fri. May 22, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.
* Special Ensemble Studio Performance
 

Production Sponsor

CIBC

 

Production supported in part by

OCAF

Nearby Hotels & Restaurants
Make a night of your visit to the opera.
Map & Directions
How to find the Four Seasons Centre.